Crazy Bean Sports League

On Sunday I had a Kickball/Going Away Picnic in the park with all my favorite deputies.  It was AMAZING. A few games of kickball (in which we recruited four other picnickers) turned into ultimate frisbee and then a tennis tournament.  It was like we were all five years old at a field day!  I had so much fun and I’m really grateful to everyone who came for giving me such a nice send-off to New York.  Of course, I had to test out some new recipies on my loved cronies.  After two failed attempts at making vegan brownies (ugh), I decided to make the salad you see above and Oatmeal Cream Pies!  At the picnic, everyone referred to my salad as:

That Crazy Bean Salad

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 Red Bell Pepper
  • 1 Green Bell Pepper
  • 1/2 Purple Onion
  • 1 Ripe Avocado
  • 2 Tomatoes
  • 1 can sweet corn
  • 1 can black beans

Directions

  • Chop the peppers, onion, and tomatoes into 1/2 inch pieces and put in a large bowl
  • Drain the corn and beans and add to the bowl
  • Mix it all up like you’ve got something to dance about

I had this salad a couple nights ago at my aunt and uncle’s house and fell in love with it.  It was perfect for a hot day of running around and kicking things and crashing into people.  Just in case you need a recipe for that.

What’s that?  Oatmeal Cream Pies?

These things are so sweet and decadent that you’d think I’d have only been able to polish off one.  You’d be wrong four times.  The oatmeal cookie part is based off of Kittee’s Oatmeal Cookies minus the chocolate chips and cherries.

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 8 oz Earth Balance (half a tub) or soy margarine
  • 2 T molasses
  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached granulated sugar
  • Ener-G egg replacer for 1 1/2 eggs (follow box directions)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 cups rolled oats

Filling

  • 1/4 C vegan margerine
  • 1/4 C vegetable shortening
  • 2 1/2 C powdered sugar
  • 1 t vanilla extract

Directions (copied from pakupaku.info)

  • Preheat the oven to 350F.
  • In a large bowl, cream together the margarine and both sugars until light and fluffy.
  • Add the prepared egg substitute and beat together.
  • Add the vanilla and mix to combine, scraping down the sides of the bowl.
  • In a separate bowl, sift together the flour and baking soda and stir it into the creamed mixture until well combined.
  • Add the oats and mix to combine.
  • Spoon a heaping teaspoon of dough onto an ungreased baking sheet. Repeat, spacing the cookies at least two inches apart. You should have room for three rows of four cookies.
  • Bake cookies until golden brown, 14-16 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool. Makes four dozen delite-full cookies.
  • Begin to prepare the filling by creaming the sugar and margerine for two minutes.
  • Add in the powdered sugar and beat until light and fluffy.
  • Add the vanilla and mix until incorporated.
  • Construct the cream pies by spooning a heaping teaspoonful of the filling and smashing it between two cookies.
  • Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Everyone seemed to like the cream pies, but I’m not sure anyone appreciated them quite as much as this guy:

Theo managed to snag a cookie and got through a third of it before I noticed.  Sneaky little mustache man.

10 responses to “Crazy Bean Sports League

  1. wait, are you gone for good now? sniff sniff. :( best of luck in ny. (I AM JEALOUS.) i know you will be way well fed.

    i HATE bell peppers, but other than that your crazy beanness looks amazing. please return to LA often. there is always an open seat at the communal table of m café awaiting you. ;) ;)

  2. I love that beans salad – I make one very similar to it but have not put avocado in it. I will tryt hat next time.

    I had to go to the 7-11 to get an oatmeal cream pie two nights ago – I wish I had this recipe!

  3. Kittee’s recipes are so amazing! I’ve never thought of doing the cream pies though…genius!

  4. that pup is just beyond. beyond!

  5. oatmeal cream pies! I used to eat those as a kid in SC, not vegan at the time of course. Yours look great.

  6. Now there’s a sport I can get behind, seeing as it’s one that looks like it would go mighty well with a frosty tequila …

  7. I think I could take on that whole heap of oatmeal cream pies! I’ve made Kittee’s cookies before, with the cherries & stuff, but I’ve never thought to turn them into sandwich cookies. You’re brilliant!

  8. I want OtamealCreamPies, now! They look delicious :)

  9. Yay! Oatmeal cream pies <3 I made some tonight but had to add another half stick of margerine and about two Tb of soymilk to the filling. But yeah, they were delicious, thanks : )

  10. I made the bean salad for Memorial Day, and it was great! My family raved about it, and it was perfect for my grandmother who has lost most of her sense of taste but still enjoys color and texture!

Leave a Reply

