Two Dudes Review: BabycakesNYC in LA!

I’ve decided to employ two good gentlemen for a new feature entitled “Two Dudes Review.” These dudes are not vegan.  These dudes aren’t health food fanatics.  They are dudes.  One of them could feasibly kill you with his big toe using Krav Maga.  The other likes to send phone pictures of his greasiest meatiest lunches to me.  Neither one of them likes sweets very much.  I am going to feed them vegan food and see what happens.  Someone might lose an eye.  This is going to be very exciting.

For the first review, I took a stroll downtown to check out the new Babycakes location! I didn’t want to bore you with my review because I love this place.  I wanted a review from someone with completely different taste buds.   Hence the dudes.  Babycakes is next door to Cole’s – hello!  I already like this idea.  After a few dry martinis, a late night cupcake?  Yeah?  You like that?

This location, in accord with the one in NYC, is cute as hell. Bright and airy with a feminine kick, it reminds me of when my friend Bethany and I used to sneak into her big sister’s room to steal her clothes.  I don’t know why it reminds me of that, but it might have something to do with pink.

Babycakes’ owner, Erin McKenna was in full effect when I came in and I managed to snag her attention to babble some incoherancies about how great it is that they’ve opened in LA.  Bonus points: Erin’s mom was there!  She must be so proud to see her daughter running a great (now bi-coastal!) business.

After selecting some of my favorites, I ran back to Echo Park (salivating – I’m gross) to let the magic begin.  Let’s go item by item and I’ll tell you what the fellas thought.  We’ll call them Daryl and My Other Brother Daryl*.

Gluten Free Chocolate Donut

Daryl: “That’s vegan?  It’s good.  I used to work at a Krispy Kreme so I know donuts … this is something I would definitely buy with a cup of coffee.”

My Other Brother Daryl: “Is that?  Lemony?  Citrus?  It’s good.”

Gluten-Free Banana Chocolate Chip Loaf

D: “This is good.  I’d rather eat my mom’s banana bread but…” This was said as he took another bite.  And another.

MOBD: “It’s pretty good.  I don’t like the chocolate chips in there – too much chocolate, but it’s nice because it’s not too sweet.”

Gluten-Free Cornbread with Apple Topping

D: “This is a strange mix.  It’s good and not to sweet but without the apple I don’t like the cornbread as much.”

MOBD:  “Hm!  Those go well together!  I wouldn’t have thought that.  I’m taking another bite.”

Chocolate Filled Brownie

D: A lot of nodding happened with this one.  Then, “It’s really dry … it’s a good taste but not as rich as a brownie I’m sed too.  It feels like something is off.”

MOBD: There was a strong happy reaction with the brownie accompanied by the statement, “This tastes like a real brownie!”

Spelt Carrot Cupcake and Vanilla Cupcake

D: “The icing is different from what I’m used to.  I like it, it’s not too sweet.  Wait there’s no sugar?  Wow.  How do they do that?  I mean how do they even know how to do that?” Once we got to the Vanilla Cupcake, Daryl’s sweet tolerance had been breached  and he started coming up with statements like,“This tastes sort of like a donkey’s pancreas.  Like a sledgehammer’s girlfriend.” So we had to put him to bed.

MOBD: “I’m not much of  cupcake eater.  What did I just eat?  The icing is good – the cake is a bit dry but the Carrot Cake has a good cinnamon flavor.  I like these because they’re not overwhelmingly sweet.”

I also brought over a Brownie Cupcake (which I died for) and forgot to take a picture.  The verdict was:

D: “The icing is too sweet the cake is really good!”

MOBD:  “I guess I just don’t like chocolate chips in stuff.”

The overall winner was the donut with the cornbread making a particular mark on My Other Brother Daryl.  I LOVED the donut.  It was really hard not to eat the whole thing before I gave some to the guys.  It blows my mind that it’s gluten-free.  On the next trip, I’m going to try theeeese:

Go do your own review with your own dudes:

Babycakes NYC
130 East 6th Street (between S. Main Street and S. Los Angeles Street)
Telephone: 213.623.5555

*If you catch that reference I will send you a prize.

15 responses to “Two Dudes Review: BabycakesNYC in LA!

  1. Newhart.

    Now, what’s my prize?

    Oh, btw. Great idea with feeding unhealthy men healthy food. It’s one of my favorite past times. Wait. that sounds creepy.

    Now, what’s my prize?

    • Hooray Sammmmm! I’m gonna send you cookies. E-mail me your address? zissou@earthlink.net. Also, that brussels sprout/apple/tofu dish on your blog is going to make a big appearance at my next dinner party for sure.

  2. Shoot, I totally new it was Newhart! “I’m Daryl. This is my brother Daryl and my other brother Daryl.” Too slow, I guess.

    This feature is great. I can’t wait to see what the Two Dudes review next!

    • I think I’m going to take them to Cru! The bonus is that I get to eat everything they don’t finish. I looooove this new feature.

  3. must. go. there. the next time I’m in LA.

  4. can’t wait to go to babycakes to see what it’s all about

  5. Great review! Can’t wait to get there to try the donuts!

  6. just spent some time in NYC and managed to go 3 times. my favourites: SKINNY BUN sooooo good. get one NOW!
    the red velvet cupcake and the cookie sandwiches.
    they didn’t have donuts!! NOOO!

    • coulditbeseitan

      I think I might go again tomorrow morning. They’re close to my gym so I can … completely rationalize my time spent there??

  7. itstartedwithafish

    Just to show I know how to google (and then be sad because they never aired the show in Germany)

    Newhart

    thanx to wikipedia *bigfatgrin*

  8. I want to go to NYC just so I can go to Babycakes!

  9. Thanks for the review! I’ve tried them in NY, but not yet in LA! Awesome to see this cute little joint w/ a bi-coastal presence now!!
    I have to admit I was a bit underwhelmed w/what I purchased in NYC from them, considering the price, etc.- but still happy to see a vegan business rockin’ , creatin’ & providing the masses with cruelty-free treats!! :) Candy

Leave a Reply

