Saved by the Bell Pepper Curry

I have about five trillion (rough estimate) posts that need to happen stat, but I’m a lazy chick. What can I say? What I can say is:

Here’s a recipe for some curry when you’ve got a veggie drawer full of items threatening impending squishiness and imminent doom. Thus, “Saved by the Bell Pepper” Curry is born. Have a heart guys. Save your miscellanious veggies from the compost.

dsc02435.jpg

Recipe

Ingredients

1 can of coconut milk ( I use light coconut milk because that’s how I roll)

2 T yellow curry paste

1 T soy sauce

2 T brown sugar

1/3 C veggie broth

Use whichever veggies you have laying around but I used:

1 red bell pepper

1 Japanese eggplant

1/4 cup bamboo shoots

1/4 cup shiitake mushrooms

1 cup kale

4 oz. tofu cut into cubes

1/4 cup basil

Directions

  • In a large saucepan, simmer the coconut milk with yellow curry paste over medium heat for 5 minutes.
  • Add soy sauce, brown sugar, eggplant, bell pepper, bamboo shoots and mushrooms and simmer for 10 minutes.
  • Add kale and tofu and simmer 5 more minutes.
  • Finally, stir in the basil until wilted.

It’s that easy and I’m obsessed.

dsc02437.jpg

And Jessie Spano says “Don’t take pills?”

5 responses to “Saved by the Bell Pepper Curry

  1. This is great. Really great.
    Makes me nostalgic and wanting to buy yellow curry paste.

  2. I have yet to be content with any thai curry that has come out of my kitchen – I’ll try your technique. And I don’t need to watch the clip – I know – and I’m …so…excited (about your blog). (That is what song Jessy Spano was singing right? I’m not just coming across as insanely enthusiastic am I?)

  3. That was the best episode of “Saved by the Bell.” “I’m so excited…I’m so excited…” Oh, Jessie, OTC stay awake pills? So sad.

  4. LOL what a funny name! And isn’t Elizabeth Berkley (who played Jessie) a vegan?

  5. coulditbeseitan

    Haha thanks! I’m not sure she’s a vegan, but I’ve heard she’s a vegetarian. I spoke with her at a dinner one night, and she recommended a risotto dish that wasn’t vegan sooooo maybe not?

Leave a Reply

