Raw Slaw and the Italian Stallion: A Love Story

I’m back in the kitchen! Let’s all skip and sing about it!

Purple People Eater Raw Slaw

I was craving some cole slaw because it’s warm and sunny and I like pretending it’s not the middle of February. Make this stuff and you’re instantly whisked to a tropical island with purple Oompa-Loompas and birds that talk and endless streams of chilled Perrier. I’m serious. I was there last week.

dsc02747.jpg

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1/2 head purple cabbage
  • 1 Fuji apple
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 2 T Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 T Nama Shoyu
  • 1 T Agave nectar OR maple syrup

Directions

  • In a large bowl, grate the cabbage and apple.
  • Toss in the walnuts and raisins, mix.
  • Just chuck all the other stuff in too – this recipe is ridiculously easy.

Ta-dah! This makes about 4 small servings.

Rosemary Olive Focaccia from Veganomicon
So for Valentine’s Day, I wanted to bake. Natch. But my boyfriend doesn’t have quite as intense (i.e. raging) sweet tooth as I do. He had mentioned before that he’d eat more of what I make if it were savory. Now, I’m not much of a mathematician but I put two and two together and made a focaccia. Maybe if my algebra class had been more baking-focused I wouldn’t have gotten that glaring C back in 11th grade. I added calamata olives because I remember the olive bread I used to flip out for at the French bakery where I used to work. Was that a run-on sentence? Dangling modifier? Apparently I’m not good at math OR English.

Pre-Bake

dsc02708.jpg

Post-Bake Pre-Devour

dsc02720.jpg

2 responses to “Raw Slaw and the Italian Stallion: A Love Story

  1. I’m so glad your bread turned out! It looks great. I probably did something wrong.

  2. Oh, yes, you should definitely try Scoops. I believe that they have a smaller selection on Sundays, so try for one of the other 6 days of the week. šŸ™‚ Can’t wait to hear what you think of it!

Leave a Reply

