Los Bruncheles

So things ’round here are picking up again thanks to the end of the writers strike (hooray for the WGA!) When the weekend rolls around, there’s nothing I like more than to unwind with my bros and my hos(?) on a Sunday morning. And stuff myself with baked goods. And stuff them with baked goods. That and mimosas. OK, really, take everything away but the mimosas and I’m still pretty damn happy.

ANYWAY.

dsc02998.jpg
Mini Tofu Quiches, French Toast with Maple Syrup and Banana Slices, Almond Chocolate Chip Zucchini Muffins, Strawberries, Dates, and OJ!

I hosted our “weekly” brunch club at my place this time. I say “weekly” because we tend to forget about it for a few, um, months, and then pick back up again. This time it was completely rad because it was our first fully vegan jam and I felt really happy to share my goodiegoods with some precious people! On to the food:

Susan’s Mini Crustless Tofu Quiches

dsc02974.jpg

I am a huge fan of the FatFree Vegan Kitchen and this is one of Susan’s most popular recipes – for a reason! This recipe is so healthy and incredibly delicious. I want to make these all the time using different veggies and spices! This time I threw in onions, garlic, tomatoes, swiss chard, and mushrooms. Luckily, I chopped everything into small enough pieces that the tofu still held together. A word of warning though, don’t throw any huge pieces of veggies in there because thangs will get messy. A couple people were confused, thinking I was serving them EGGS! Ah, vegan trickery and her wiley ways.

French Toast

dsc02999.jpg

Not the prettiest picture, but french toast doesn’t require glamour shots. She’s got enough sassy spice to stand out, non?

Recipe

12 pieces of whole-wheat bread

1 cup soy milk

2 T nutritional yeast

1 t cinnamon

1 t nutmeg

1 t vanilla extract

1/2 t salt

1/4 cup AP Flour

oil as needed for the pan

Instructions

  • Combine soy milk, nutritional yeast, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, and flour in a large mixing bowl.
  • Heat oil on a medium flame in a large pan/skillet – I used a wok because I’m wacky.
  • Dip a slice of bread into the soy milk mixture, coating both side of slice.
  • Drop bread slice onto pan or skillet.
  • Fry just until bottom is browned, then flip and repeat.
  • Continue until you’re out of bread and everyone is standing around you drooling and looking at you longingly.

Almond Chocolate Chip Zucchini Muffins

dsc02986.jpg

I’ve made these before and I’ll make them again because they rule. This time I mixed it up and used whole-wheat flour and almonds instead of walnuts. The muffins were a lot denser, and just as delicious!

This was a rad brunch and the cute couple from across the hall even brought us pancakes! So nice to just sit around and shoot the shiitake with cool people. I can’t wait for the next one.

Gigantor the Killer Strawberry!

dsc02978.jpg

6 responses to “Los Bruncheles

  1. Uh, those quiche look SUPER rad and delicious. And I was very curious to look at the recipe for the french toast. The zucchini muffins, oh man, almonds and chocolate are two of my favorite things, and any kind of zucchini or banana or any type of bread like that is SO GOOD. great menu.

  2. Wow, what a gorgeous brunch spread!!!

    And I love those quiches too :o).

  3. Oh yeah… aren’t those mini quiches just the best ever? Looks like it was a lovely brunch!

  4. How fun! Isn’t it great that we’re back to business in L.A. since the strike is over? Production has started again and my little heart is so very happy. 🙂

  5. That looks so good. I want to come over for vegan brunch!

    BTW, nice blog. I’ve added you to my vegan blogroll.

  6. How do I subscribe to your feed?

    I have you on my blogroll, but it’ll be easier for me to read your posts in my reader, rather than clicking on the link on my blog.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

