Early Morning Simian Craving

Friday morning I woke up with a need for something involving chocolate and bananas – and I had 2 hours to get to a meeting on time. It was one of those weeks. Yeah. So, my mission was clear: The World’s Fastest Banana Bread. I ‘used’ the Lower Fat Banana Bread recipe from Veganomicon, but it would be a shame to credit this loaf to Isa and Terry because I didn’t have any time for measurements. Only time for eatin’. So this bread didn’t turn out quite how I’d hoped – a little uncooked in the middle and brown on the bottom. I think I had a manic attack of the stirring-arm so the bread was also a bit gummy due to overmixing. Too much apple sauce too. But you know what? Whatever. Whatever! Chocolate chip banana bread is what I wanted and it’s what I gots. It’s actually pretty great after hanging out in the freezer and getting toasty in the toasty toaster oven. Besides, I got to prove to myself yet again that my measurement-eyeballing skills are not quite honed. And that, my friends, is a good lesson to learn.

6 responses to “Early Morning Simian Craving

  1. Well, it certainly looks good!

  2. I have to say – it still looks really good – maybe even more so.

  3. i want a piece!! i need to experiment with some bread baking. now i’m hungry.

  4. Honestly? I would’ve eaten the whole loaf. Maybe this is the reason why I don’t make it…

  5. YUM

  6. coulditbeseitan

    Thanks guys! Alice – Yeah it’s pretty much gone. The only thing restraining me from full devourage is the nagging necessity of defrosting!

Leave a Reply

