She’s Such a Tart

In the midst of a week break from travelling, I was graciously put up by my boyfriend’s parents in their New York apartment.  I was given free reign in the kitchen!  I ate gloriously!  One of my favorite things (that I actually managed to get pictures of) that I made was a raw fruit tart/pie.  I got the idea somewhere on the internet, but I essentially tossed a bunch of stuff together.  Hopefully I can remember how all this went down.

Raw Fruit Tart

Recipe

Ingredients

1 8 inch pie pan

2 C almonds

1 C chopped medjool dates

2 mangoes

1/4 C coconut flakes

About 2 C halved strawberries – enough to cover the top of the tart

Directions

  • Blend the almonds and the dates together a handful at a time in a chopper – I used some sort of crazy Cuisinart chopping device I found lurking in a cabinet.
  • Press almond/date mixture down into the pie pan, making sure to cover the sides of the pan.
  • Peel, chop, and blend mangoes until they have an even consistency.
  • Stir coconut flakes into mango.
  • Scoop mango mixture into your pie crust, spreading it out evenly with a spatula.
  • Place sliced strawberries (or any fruit of your choosing) decoratively over the tart.
  • Chill the tart in a refrigerator for at least an hour before serving. Best served chillllled out.

After much struggle with grinding almonds and dates together – this was the end result.  Hooray!  It was delicious, and I didn’t have to feel bad about eating it for breakfast the next day.  Yessss.  I also managed to make an AMAZING pasta-less lasagna (casserole?) with eggplant, spinach, and mushrooms.  I made the dish twice and didn’t get a good photo of it either time – thanks night time photography.  However, check out this dip I made for some crusty olive bread:

That’s some roasted garlic, sun-dried tomatoes, olive oil, and pepper – I let it marinate in its own sauciness before serving it and it was gooood.

5 responses to “She’s Such a Tart

  1. oh my, oh my! the fruit tart looks amazing! i really need to make this! it sounds so sweet & delicious…perfect for a summer treat…

    the pasta-less lasagna sounds gooooood, too! and that oil for dipping – holy batman, it looks fantastical! my spouse loooooove garlic & sun-dried tomatoes – i’m going to have to try this, too.

    thanks for the fruit tart recipe!

  2. The raw tart looks absolutely amazing. If only I weren’t so lazy… 😉

  3. that looks delicious….i’ve never had a raw tart before. great presentation as well!

  4. Mmmm… looks lovely–just in time for summer (the perfect time for berry-cooking).

  5. The tart looks delicious…I love raw treats. The bread dipping sauce is brilliant. Roasted garlic is my favorite, and it looks easy to make!

Leave a Reply

