Che Pizza!

I had two cornmeal crusts hanging out in the fridge asking to be used.  There’s a sun-dried tomato tapenade at a restaurant I love in town, and I really wanted to try something like it as a pizza base.  This was my lunch/ the boy’s dinner later that night!  I made up a recipe for pizza sauce that was unlike anything I’ve ever had – and really good.

Sundried Tomato Pesto Sauce

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 jar of sundried tomatoes packaged in olive oil
  • 1 large bunch of basil leaves, with the stems trimmed off
  • 1/4 C pine nuts

Directions

  • Put everything into a blender and blend until everything is incorporated and smooth.  Facile.

On top of the sauce, I put a basic “cheeze” sauce involving nutritional yeast, flour, corn starch, mustard, and water.  Next time, I’ll add more liquid because it thickened up quite a bit.  However, after it was in the oven for a while it had a really nice cheesy texture.  I sliced up a tomato to put on top and popped everything into an oven set at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes.  It was really satisfying with the crunchy cornmeal holding all the gooiness together.  It’s a bit unconventional, but tossing an apron in the face of authority is always a good time.

8 responses to “Che Pizza!

  1. What a fantastic idea!

  2. wow, that looks really good. i love the idea of the cheezy sauce. it sounds delicious with sundried tomato pizza. well done!

  3. It looks just great! I like unconventional pizzas, it’s like spicing up an old classic!

  4. I love a good vegan pizza that doesn’t need cheese, and sun-dried tomato pesto is the bomb!

  5. Crunchy cornmeal crust! This looks so good and easy, too.

  6. I’m all for bucking tradition. And your pizza looks delicious.

  7. What a great “experiment”!

  8. I’m salivating…

Leave a Reply

