Pure Joy

Everyone who knows me probably wants to smack the words “Pure Luck” outta my mouth at this point.  It’s my favorite restaurant in town and I probably * name drop the place twice a day.  It’s time I show the place some e-love.

dsc05159

Let me introduce you to my favorite thing on the menu – the Jackfruit Carnitas Burrito.  See that stuff that looks like murder pulled pork?  That is the stuff of dreams – the jackfruit.  Sweet and reminiscent of a milder apple, the jackfruit translates into an incredible savory meat substitute in this burrito.  It’s shredded and coated with barbecue sauce and really it’s just something you have to try for yourself.  I mean, who doesn’t want to taste the world’s largest tree fruit!?  Get to it!!  And what is that stuff lurking to the right of Sr. Burrito?  Why it’s my favorite food of all time!  What do you know!

dsc05154

Ah sweet potato fries.  I gotta say, I make baked sweet potato fries better than most places … but Pure Luck does a girl right.  Usually.  If you know about the whole debacle, I’ll spare you.  If you don’t … click on that link.  Long story short, they have good days and bad days.  This picture was taken on a GOOD day.  They serve these guys with a side of sauce made of what I am guessing is Veganaise and BBQ sauce and it’s heaven in a little paper cup.  Do yourself a favor and order these.

dsc05156

I’m also a big fan of the Vegan Caesar here when I want something lighter.  It’s crunchy and garlicky the tofu is (usually – not the day of this photo) done just right. I love this place.  I’m not a beer drinker, but I know from other people that the beer is cheap, organic, and GOOD.  I also don’t have a photo of the plantains but DAMN.  They’re insane.  They can top them with vegan whipped cream and put em in a taco or just serve them straight up and they’re delicious.

Coming soon is my review of Scoops – the LA classic.  Ride your bike down there and fuel your ride home properly!

*This marks the first time I reveal my identity on my blog.  Get siked about it!
6 responses to “Pure Joy

  1. Wow it is strange that we haven’t come across each other since the similarities are abundant. In any case, hello nice to meet you 🙂

    I am a huge fan of Pure Luck, and if you haven’t tried it already, I highly recommend Kristen’s Carnitas wrap. It is also filled with the amazing jackfruit. So freaking good.

  2. Mmmm…Pure Luck and Scoops…a match made in heaven! I’m glad you’re back in L.A.!

  3. those pix are making me very hungry. i am definitely gonna hit up pure luck today.

  4. I realllly need to get a hold of some jack fruit, that look so insanely delicious!

  5. Shit! I don’t know if I have time to hit Pure Luck on my trip to LA next week, but now I think I gotta! It’s mighty tasty!

  6. wow. that burrito really gets me going.

Leave a Reply

