Daring Bakers April: Lavender Infused Cheesecake With Blueberries

ninja_w

The April 2009 challenge is hosted by Jenny from Jenny Bakes. She has chosen Abbey’s Infamous Cheesecake as the challenge.

As soon as I saw this challenge, I felt the fond memories of this post washing over me.  I felt like the old lady in Cats singing about her bygone youth.  Nothing like cheesecake to make a gal howl in the moonlight.

dsc05239

I decided to use a different recipe this time, and unfortunately it wasn’t as good as the other one!  It still tasted good, but definitely a “vegan” dessert.  I served it to some omni friends at a dinner party and was pretty bummed about the taste.  I’m trying to sway people here!  And it certainly didn’t help that one of my friends believes some rather silly myths about soy being “indigestible” by the human body.  I meant to ask him how the  continent of Asia managed to thrive with all that poison coursing through their bodies for the past … six millenia.  But anyway.  Cheesecake fail revoked my argument permission.

Ingredients

Tofutti (total of 24 oz) room temperature
1 cup / 210 g sugar
1 C firm silken tofu
1 cup / 8 oz soy milk
2 T lavender flowers
4 T corn starch
1 tbsp. lemon juice
1 tbsp. vanilla extract (or the innards of a vanilla bean)

Crust

2 C graham cracker crumbs
1 stick Earth Balance, melted
2 T vegan  sugar
1 t vanilla extract

Blueberry Topping

3/4 bag frozen blueberries
1/4 C freshly squeezed orange juice
1/3 C sugar
2 T corn starch
1 t cinnamon

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Mix together the crust ingredients and press into your preferred pan. You can press the crust just into the bottom, or up the sides of the pan too – baker’s choice. Set crust aside.

3. Heat soymilk until hot but not boiling.  Place lavender flowers in the soymilk and steep for 15 minutes.  Strain the flowers out of the soymilk and set milk aside.

dsc05216

4. Combine cream cheese and sugar in the bowl of a stand-mixer (or in a large bowl if using a hand-mixer) and cream together until smooth. Add tofu and blend until smooth. Add soy milk, vanilla, lemon juice, and blend away to your heart’s desire until creamy.

dsc05215

Ew?

5. Pour batter into prepared crust and tap the pan on the counter a few times to bring all air bubbles to the surface.

6. Bake 45 to 55 minutes, until it is almost done – this can be hard to judge, but you’re looking for the cake to hold together, but still have a lot of jiggle to it in the center. You don’t want it to be completely firm at this stage. Close the oven door, turn the heat off, and let rest in the cooling oven for one hour. This lets the cake finish cooking and cool down gently enough so that it won’t crack on the top.

7. While the cheesecake is in the oven, prepare your blueberry topping.  Place all your ingredients in a small saucepan and heat on a low/medium flame until berries look ready … oops.  I didn’t time myself – just estimate!  C’mon!  We’re Daring Bakers afterall.

8. After one hour, remove cheesecake from oven. Let it finish cooling on the counter, and then cover and put in the fridge to chill. Once fully chilled, it is ready to serve.

dsc05231

Omg, so easy right?  Yeah not that easy, but it sure does look nice.  The lavender was OK – I could have done without it.  I really wanted to use it because there is a ton growing in my garden!  I also got my lemons and oranges just outside my front door!  It was nice to use (uber)local ingredients, but I’ll probably stick to my old tried and true recipe next time.  The cake tasted a little too tofu-y.  It reminded me of something you could get at Souen – just with a lot more sugar.  Well, ya live and ya learn and there will always be another day for cheesecake.

17 responses to “Daring Bakers April: Lavender Infused Cheesecake With Blueberries

  1. Your cheesecake looks amazing! I have a friend who is crazy about lavender right now, I am totally sending her to your blog!

  2. I believe that baked goods are the greatest vegan ambassadors, so I agree with you that I’d rather not serve something with a pronounced soy flavor. At least you have an excellent cheesecake recipe in your arsenal already and can use it next time. 🙂 The lavender sounds like a lovely idea!

  3. This looks so GoOd! *Salivating* I love the use of the lavender, never would have thought of that.

  4. Lavender is one of my favorite flavors… bet’ya it was completely crazy paired with blueberries! WOW! …humpf… why didn’t I think of lavender!? Darn…

    Very, very nice!

  5. That’s the most tempting purple I’ve ever seen! What a great twist on the classic cheesecake with blueberries.

  6. Did your graham cracker crumbs have honey in them? I’ve never seen graham crackers without honey. I was going to try Susan V’s recipe for pumpkin cheesecake:
    http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2007/11/double-layer-pumpkin-cheesecake.html
    but I got hung up on the crust. I was thinking of crushing some Barbara’s Shredded Oats cereal or something like that since I always get it from Trader Joes.

    • coulditbeseitan

      I’m under the impression that Nabisco’s Original Graham Crackers are vegan – have you checked those out? Am I totally off my rocker?

  7. Your cheesecake looks absolutely delicious – I’m sorry it didn’t turn out the way you wanted. I totally relate to the sharing with omnis thing, wanting to make a point, etc, about how great eating vegan can be…hey it’s not like every omni dish turns out like perfection, right?!! Did I mention your cake looks great? Love the lavender idea!

  8. You had me at lavender. Sounds fantastic!

  9. I’m not the strictest vegan around and I would never tell vegans or vegetarians what they shouldn’t eat but I try to avoid honey myself and I’m pretty sure I read through the ingredients of every kind of graham cracker at Ralphs and they all had honey in them. One or two of the pre-made graham cracker crusts may have been honeyless but they have hydrogenated trans-fats which I also try to avoid.

    Hmm, now that I did a google search I see people referring those Nabisco Original Graham Crackers in a red box that don’t have honey in them. I don’t think I’ve ever seen those. Where do you get them?

    I was also thinking of trying ginger snaps but they might be too strong.

    • coulditbeseitan

      I did actually use a pre-made crust for this recipe because I was running short on time, but I’ve found the Nabisco ones before – I think I found them at Walmart?

  10. Mm wow your cheesecake is so pretty, bet it tasted delicious as well!!

  11. I wondered how good the vegan versions of this would taste. I’m sorry it didn’t go better for you! Love that you tried, and it sure looks pretty. 🙂

  12. I’m reading this while drinking lavender tea so it’s safe to say that I’m a fan. This looks simply divine!

  13. Oh no, no room for cheesecake fail! Your cheesecake sure looks good!

  14. Well even if it didn’t taste as good as you hoped, it certainly looks delicous, and the description alone made my mouth water!

  15. Yum, those flavors sound absolutely terrific together! Amazing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

