Snack Attack vs. Zack Attack

My favorite snacks and my favorite Zacks.

DSC05530

Roasted Tamari Chickpeas

This recipe is really easy and quick – and you can store these guys for later when you’re watching a Saved By The Bell marathon.

Ingredients

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 T toasted sesame oil
  • 2 T Tamari soy sauce

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F
  • In a bowl, coat chickpeas with sesame oil and soy sauce
  • Spread chickpeas onto a baking sheet (preferable something with a lip on the edge to prevent liquid draining off)
  • Bake for 20 minutes
  • Take baking sheet out of the oven, toss chickpeas
  • Bake for another 15 minutes
  • Let cool and enjoy!

DSC05535

Baked Sweet Potato Fries

I’ll admit this was lunch yesterday with some BBQ sauce.  Not so much a snack, but not really ‘lunch’ either.

Ingredients

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 T olive oil
  • salt

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees F
  • Slice sweet potato into 1/2 wedges – or whatever magical shape suits your fancy.  Unicorn shapes?  Lightning bolts?  Mustaches?
  • Arrange slices on a baking sheet, coat with oil, and sprinkle on a desired amount of salt (or any seasonings you feel like – I use curry a lot)
  • Place baking sheet in oven and bake for 20 minutes
  • Remove baking sheet, flip slices over, and bake for another 15 minutes

I should let you know that my oven doesn’t seem to heat up all the way, so you might want to reduce these times or the temperature.  Don’t want no burnt Zacks snacks.

10 responses to “Snack Attack vs. Zack Attack

  1. Mmmm chickpeas and sweet potatoes, two of my favorites, made ever better by roasting! They look delicious!

  2. At least he plays a Rickenbacker!

    I’m going to try that chickpeas recipe. It looks really good!

  3. those chickpeas are making me drool. um, and i used to be in love with zack morris. who wasn’t?

    • coulditbeseitan

      maaajor hottiepants. i have a life goal of meeting the entire cast of saved by the bell. or at least seeing them in person. i’m 2 deep now.

  4. sweet potatoe fries. nom. think I’ll go make some when I get home.

  5. I’ve been meaning to roast chickpeas for ages! Looks good.

  6. oh man! that episode about the zack attack was my FAVORITE saved by the bell episode. even though nothing tops hot sundae (sunday?).

  7. I love sweet potato fries, they are the best comfort food ever. I like mine drowned in mustard and ketchup. =)

  8. I made the roasted chickpeas the other day, and they were great! I had to force myself to stop eating them.

    • coulditbeseitan

      Wonderful! I know, I can go through a whole lotta chickpeas in one sitting. At least it’s not Doritos or something equally horrible!

Leave a Reply

