Lemme See Yr Muffin Top

DSC05807

Oh you didn’t want me to put on my really tight pants?  Because I can do that too … oh.  Ok.

I made these Blueberry Oat Muffins last week for breakfast and LOST IT because they’re the best I’ve ever had.  I really wanted some muffin tops, which is a feat rarely achieved in vegan baking … why I do not know.  It seems like the baking powder and baking soda should aid in the leavening, but vegan muffins are (usually) reluctant to rise.  The magic secret (omg) is to overfill the cups.  Did I just blow your mind?  Whoa.

DSC05823

Check out the Recipe:

(Makes 12 normal sized muffins and 8 jumbo muffins with tops)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 Cup AP Flour
  • 1/2 C Oats
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 2 tsp Baking Powder
  • Pinch salt
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Vegetable Oil
  • 2 Flax Eggs (2 T ground Flax seed + 6 T water)
  • 1 Cup Soy Yogurt
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 C Blueberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1/2 C Chopped Walnuts

Directions

  • Preheat your oven for 400 degrees and grease your muffin tin with vegetable oil or vegan margarine.
  • In a small bowl, create your flax eggs by whisking together the ground flax seed and water.  Set aside.
  • In a large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients.
  • In a separate bowl, combine all the wet ingredients, including your flax eggs.
  • Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and top with the blueberries and walnuts.  Stir only until everything is just incorporated – be sure not to over-mix!
  • Scoop your batter evenly into the muffin tins, filling them all the way to the top.  Don’t be afraid!  These muffins don’t rise very much!
  • Place the muffin tin on a middle rack in your oven and bake for 20 minutes, or until the edges just start to look caramel brown.
  • Cool on a rack and enjoy!

All this talk of muffin tops and racks, I can only imagine what the search engines turn out this week.

DSC05827

11 responses to “Lemme See Yr Muffin Top

  1. Those muffins look great. Are they as moist as they look?

  2. Wow those look really great, can’t wait to try the recipe.

  3. I just drop muffin batter on cookie sheets. All top, baby.

  4. i don’t think i have had a decent blueberry muffin since going vegan. these look delicious. thanks for sharing the recipe…i cannot bake AT ALL unless i am following an exact recipe. :/

  5. those look so good. i love muffins, especially blueberry, and i can’t wait to try this recipe!

  6. Mmm I used to love a good blueberry muffin, but I haven’t had one since going vegan. I must give these a try!

  7. Ooh, those look GOOD!

  8. holy cow these look SO GOOD. I wish you could just make the muffin top because I almost want to throw the bottom part away (though I just feed it to my 2 yr old who is impartial). love these!
    -Sylvia
    Padrons

Leave a Reply

