Daring Bakers June: What A Tart!

ninja_w

Sorry this post is late!  I had a really crazy weekend baking for TWO bake sales!  Bake Me Up LA and Hunt & Gather!  I had a great time doing it, but there was no time for stringing together even half-assembled sentences.  OK.  Now I’m ready.

The June Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Jasmine of Confessions of a Cardamom Addict and Annemarie of Ambrosia and Nectar. They chose a Traditional (UK) Bakewell Tart… er… pudding that was inspired by a rich baking history dating back to the 1800’s in England.

DSC05802

The original recipe was chock full o’ eggs and cream so it was fun (fun?) to find vegan substitutions.  Luckily, it turned out really well!  Half of it was eaten at our bi-weekly “Twin Peaks” night.  A bunch of friends get together and watch two episodes of Twin Peaks and sigh over Kyle MacLachlan’s hair and the genius of David Lynch.  Instead of baking a cherry pie or donuts for this night, I chose to test my Blackwell Tart on the guests.  I think it went well because the people who originally refused a piece ended up eating two before the night was over.  Muahahaha.

DSC05784

I made a shortcrust pie crust using a recipe from Novel Eats.

DSC05788

Then added some homemade Strawberry Pan Jam.

DSC05791

And topped it off with an Almond Frangipane roughly based on a recipe from Tongue Ticklers.  I would have liked to have ground my almonds finer, but my little food processor was against that idea.  AND GEEZE what is the deal with almond flour costing $13 for a little bag?  I cannot handle that price tag.

DSC05803

The finished product!  It was delicious and not too sweet- even my sugar-phobic friends enjoyed it.  I think Agent Cooper would consider a piece of this tart one of his daily presents to himself.

7 responses to “Daring Bakers June: What A Tart!

  1. Looks yummy! I’ll have to try this as soon as I figure out my vegan tiramisu recipe.

    “sugar-phobic”? Is that allowed?

    Where do you get your almond flour?

    I get almond meal at Trader Joes for something like 4 or 5 dollars for a one pound bag. It’s the same price as a pound of almonds there. It does have brown specks from the skin though.

  2. Looks good to me!

  3. That looks really good, I’m going to have to try that!

  4. Congratulations on veganising the tart–I think Agent Cooper would approve.

    Thanks for participating.
    j

  5. The price of almond flour blows me away too, but it looks like your pie was worth the price tag!

  6. ohhh, that looks great! twin peaks night sounds like a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

